Equivalent

Equivalent

Synonym for “has the same value as” or “is equal to.”

This word is used in many different expressions and contexts where we compare two quantities or two representations. Because of this, “written forms” can be equivalent if they translate the same reality; “surfaces” can be equivalent if they have the same area; expressions can be equivalent if they state the same thing in different ways or if they have the same logical value; etc.

Examples

  • The written forms \(0,5\), \(\dfrac{1}{2}\) and \(50 \%\) are different ways of writing the same real number: \(0,5\) is the decimal form, \(\dfrac{1}{2}\) is the fractional form, and \(50 \%\) is the representation of the equivalent fraction \(\dfrac{50}{100}\) in the form of a percentage.
  • The sequences of operations \(5\times \left( 7-2\right)\) and \(\left( 5\times 7\right) -\left( 5\times 2\right)\) are equivalent because they give the same result (the same value). We could also write \(5\times \left( 7-2\right)=\left( 5\times 7\right) -\left( 5\times 2\right)\)
  • The equations \(5x=40\) and \(2x = 16\) are equivalent because they have the same solution set, which is \({8}\).

Try Buzzmath activities for free

and see how the platform can help you.

équivalent

équivalent

Synonyme de « a la même valeur que » ou « équivaut à ».

Ce mot est utilisé dans plusieurs expressions et dans plusieurs contextes où on met en rapport deux quantités, ou deux représentations.  Ainsi, des « écritures » peuvent être équivalentes si elles traduisent une même réalité, des « surfaces » peuvent être équivalentes si elles ont la même aire, des expressions peuvent être équivalentes si elles énoncent la même chose de manières différentes ou si elles ont la même valeur logique, etc.

Exemples

  • Les écritures \(0,5\), \(\dfrac{1}{2}\) et \(50 \%\) sont des écritures différentes d’un même nombre réel : d’abord \(0,5\) est l’écriture décimale alors que \(\dfrac{1}{2}\) est l’écriture fractionnaire; quant à \(50 \%\), il s’agit de la représentation de la fraction équivalente \(\dfrac{50}{100}\) sous la forme d’un pourcentage.
  • Les chaines d’opérations \(5\times \left( 7-2\right)\) et \(\left( 5\times 7\right) -\left( 5\times 2\right)\) sont équivalentes car elles donnent le même résultat (la même valeur).  On pourra d’ailleurs écrire \(5\times \left( 7-2\right)=\left( 5\times 7\right) -\left( 5\times 2\right)\).
  • Les équations \(5x=40\) et \(2x = 16\) sont équivalentes, car elles ont le même ensemble solution, soit \({8}\).