References

References

  • Baruk, S., Dictionnaire de mathématiques élémentaires, Éditions du Seuil, 1992
  • Bouvier, A. and George, M. Dictionnaire des mathématiques, PUF, first edition, 1979
  • De Champlain, D., Mathieu, P., Patenaude, P. and Tessier, H., Lexique mathématique, enseignement secondaire, 2nd edition, 1996, Les Éditions du Triangle d’Or, distribution by Modulo Éditeur, telephone: (514) 738-9818, toll-free: 1-888-738-9818.
  • Gellert W. et al., Petite encyclopédie des mathématiques, French edition, 1980,
    translated from German by J. L. Lions, Collège de France, Paris, Éditions K. Pagoulatos, Paris – Londres – Athènes; Original title: Klein Encyclopädie der Mathematik
  • Hanson, Diane, Le lexique élémentaire / Le lexique secondaire, Saskatchewan Education
  • Ifrah, Georges, Histoire universelle des chiffres, collection Bouquins, 1994, in 2 volumes. Vol. 1: 1042 pages, Vol. 2: 1010 pages
  • Jean, Charles E., RécréomathDictionnaire de mathématiques récréatives, available exclusively on the Internet.
  • Schwartzman, Steven, The Words of Mathematics, An Etymological Dictionary of Mathematical Terms Used in English, The Mathematical Association of America, 1994
  • Karush, William, PhD, Dictionary of Mathematics, Webster’s New World, 1989

Notes

As part of a mathematical theory or a book about a mathematical concept, it is common for authors to use a system of definitions and properties that is unique to them. This way, they can guarantee the internal consistency of their system.

Revising systems of definitions has often contributed to advancing mathematics. Because of this, it’s possible to find definitions that are different or diverge from the ones offered in this glossary. The definitions provided here are the ones that we believe are most unanimously agreed upon in the field of teaching math to students between the ages of 5 and 17.

In order not to overload this reference tool, we have not indicated all of the meanings that are derived from them or accepted as equivalent or not. For more information, we encourage you to consult the references indicated above.

Many math terms have Greek and Latin roots (hexagon, diameter, cryptarithm, isomorphism, etc.).  They also come from everyday vocabulary (reflection, rotation, application, element, set, etc.) and foreign languages (algebra, arithmetic, algorithm, etc.). Once a term is chosen to describe a mathematical concept, it must be used with precision to avoid creating confusion: avoid mixing up number and digit, or function, equation and graph of the function, for example. Without embarking upon a crusade about the correct vocabulary to use in mathematics, it’s important to take care not to slip too easily into language shortcuts that will only lead to confusion in the long term.

Try Buzzmath activities for free

and see how the platform can help you.

Références

Références

  • Baruk, S., Dictionnaire de mathématiques élémentaires, Éditions du Seuil, 1992
  • Bouvier, A. et George, M. Dictionnaire des mathématiques, PUF, 1ère édition, 1979
  • De Champlain, D., Mathieu, P., Patenaude, P. et Tessier, H., Lexique
    mathématique, enseignement secondaire
    , 2e édition, 1996, Les Éditions du Triangle d’Or, distribution Modulo Éditeur, téléphone : (514) 738-9818, Ligne sans frais : 1-888-738-9818.
  • Gellert W. et alii, Petite encyclopédie des mathématiques, édition française, 1980,
    traduite de l’allemand par J. L. Lions, Collège de France, Paris, Éditions K. Pagoulatos, Paris – Londres – Athènes; Titre original : Klein Encyclopädie der Mathematik
  • Hanson, Diane, Le lexique élémentaire / Le lexique secondaire , Saskatchewan Education
  • Ifrah, Georges, Histoire universelle des chiffres, collection Bouquins, 1994, en 2 tomes. Tome 1 : 1042 pages, Tome 2 : 1010 pages
  • Jean, Charles E., Récréomath,
    Dictionnaire de mathématiques récréatives, outil disponible uniquement sur Internet.
  • Schwartzman, Steven, The Words of mathematics, An Etymological Dictionary of Mathematical Terms Used in English, The Mathematical Association of America, 1994

Remarques

Dans le cadre d’une théorie mathématique ou d’un ouvrage traitant d’un propos mathématique, il est fréquent qu’un auteur se donne un système de définitions et de propriétés qui lui soit propre. Il est alors garant de la cohérence interne de son système.

La révision des systèmes de définitions a souvent contribué à l’avancement de la mathématique.  Pour cette raison, il est possible de rencontrer ailleurs des définitions différentes ou qui divergent de celles qui sont proposées dans ce lexique.   Celles qui ont été retenues ici sont celles qui nous ont semblé faire la plus grande unanimité dans le domaine de l’enseignement des mathématiques aux élèves de 5 à 17 ans.

Pour ne pas charger inutilement cet outil de référence, nous n’avons pas indiqué toutes les acceptions dérivées ou admises de manière équivalente ou non.  Pour plus d’informations, nous vous renvoyons aux ouvrages de référence indiqués ci-dessus.

À l’origine des termes utilisés en mathématiques, on trouve très souvent des racines latines et grecques (hexagone, diamètre, cryptarithme, isomorphisme, etc.).  Ils proviennent aussi tout bonnement du vocabulaire usuel (réflexion, rotation, application, élément, ensemble, etc.) ou de langues étrangères (algèbre, arithmétique, algorithme, chiffre,  etc.).  Une fois qu’un terme est choisi pour décrire un concept mathématique, il faut l’utiliser avec précision pour éviter de sombrer dans une communication confuse : éviter de confondre nombre, chiffre et numéro, ou encore fonction, équation et graphique de la fonction, par exemple.  Sans se lancer dans une guerre sainte à propos du vocabulaire à utiliser de façon correcte en mathématique, il faut prendre soin de ne pas glisser trop facilement dans les raccourcis de langage qui rendent à terme le propos complètement confus.